User login

Staff

Staff Images
Staff Image 1: 
Staff Image 2: 
Staff Image 3: 
Staff Image 4: 
Page Title: 
Staff
Left Channel
Content: 

Reesey Shaw

Director

Reesey Shaw is the founding Director of Lux Art Institute, an art organization whose mission is to educate and engage viewers by providing access to living artists at work.

As the former Director and Vice President of Visual Arts at the California Center for the Arts, Shaw presented artists with the opportunity to create work on site — an idea that she continues to champion today at Lux.

A graduate of Maryland Institute College of Art, Shaw received her bachelor’s and master’s degrees in fine art. She began her career as an artist and art historian, lecturing at Claremont Graduate University, University of California, San Diego, and Morgan State University in Baltimore.

Upon moving to La Jolla, California in the 1970s, Shaw exhibited at galleries and museums locally as well as in Los Angeles and New York. In the mid-‘80s her personal work evolved to include curatorial and administrative ideas that she cultivated as head of the gallery for the Felicita Foundation. Shaw later became the founding director of the California Center for the Arts Museum
in 1994.

With the support of local art patrons and philanthropists, Shaw assumed the position of founding director of Lux Art Institute in 1998. This unique institution was created in response to a need for accessible contemporary art as well as a cultural and educational presence in San Diego’s vibrant North County.

Under Shaw’s leadership, Lux has evolved from an innovative vision in 1998 to a full-blown reality. November of 2007 marked the opening of the Artist Pavilion, Lux’s first permanent facility. Designed by Renzo Zecchetto Architects, AIA, the state-of-the-art facility serves as a place for international artists to live and work, and provides the public access to the often elusive creative process.

Right Channel
Right Channel Title: 
Contact the Lux Staff
Right Channel Content: 


Reesey Shaw

Director
rshaw@luxartinstitute.org

 

Dan Buryj
Deputy Director
dburyj@luxartinstitute.org


Lisa Davis
Education Director
ldavis@luxartinstitute.org

  

Ashley McPeek
Education Coordinator
amcpeek@luxartinstitute.org

 

Lissa Corona
Teaching Artist
lcorona@luxartinstitute.org



Patricia Hurley
Registrar
phurley@luxartinstitute.org

 

Lauren Siry
Curatorial Assistant & Store Coordinator
lsiry@luxartinstitute.org


Dan Bohan
Institutional Advancement Officer
dbohan@luxartinstitute.org

 

Colleen Ennis
Advancement Associate
cennis@luxartinstitute.org



Collette Murphy Stefanko

Communications
& Events Manager
cstefanko@luxartinstitute.org



info@luxartinstitute.org
760-436-6611

 

Contact Lux  
760.436.6611  |  info@luxartinstitute.org
© Lux Art Institute